Welcome, Guest
Username: Password:

Login With Facebook

• Page:

TOPIC: Deconstructing ADHD

Deconstructing ADHD 15 May 2014 21:29 #337

Deconstructing ADHD
By: Mauren Morel, LCSW

I remember the first time I was faced with deciding whether to medicate my child or not. According to my pediatrician, my child who was 3 at that time, was not focusing, was slightly hyper and, according to her, was going to have a lifelong condition called ADD. I felt as if she was already sentencing my child. My initial reaction was of anger and in my mind I said: “How dare she?” Yes! How dare she diagnose my son in just a 15 minute visit? “Does she remember what I do for a living? I remember thinking to myself.”

My inquisitive nature immediately kicked in and I began bombarding her with questions.
-Are you aware that the term ADD is outdated and is now ADHD inattentive type, ADHD hyperactive type or ADHD combined type?
-How can you make that assessment in 15 minutes without asking me about his performance at school, social environment and at the house?
-Are you aware of scales and assessments?
-Do you believe in behavior modification?
-Do you know what I do for a living?